Blisspop Mix Series #17: Evan Michael

New York’s Evan Michael has quickly become one of our favorite DJs on the rise. Last year he released the excellent Gran Vía EP, and now he’s back with sporting his debut on Drumpoet, the Acid Anonymous EP. The new EP is more house and less disco than his previous work, but it’s a great fit and his production is better than ever. Starting with the title track, we’re treated to a summer-tinged house groove with a lightly burbling arp line laced over tropical stabs. “Something’s Up With Jack” is a mellow deep house cut running off fluttering synths and an early morning balearic flavor. “Fleck” carries an 80s influence with a throwback house beat, and closer “Monarch Migration” is a dreamy array of summery textures and percussion.

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”450″ iframe=”true” /]

The EP is a great collection, and Evan’s been awesome enough to offer us the next installment of the Blisspop mix series. Hitting some of our favorites, he jumps from deep to soulful with ease and keeps us grooving the whole time. It’s hard to go wrong with names like Hunee, Andy Hart, and Tornado Wallace, and that just scratches the surface. Take a listen below and grab the EP on vinyl over at Juno:

[soundcloud url=”″ params=”color=ff5500&auto_play=false&hide_related=false&show_comments=true&show_user=true&show_reposts=false” width=”100%” height=”166″ iframe=”true” /]

Downtown Loop – Do I have All Your Love
Espresso – Ping Pong
Hunee – Rare Silk
Tornado Wallace – Soft Light
Cleveland – Overheated Version I
Steve Murphy – Sun Flight
Norm Talley – Mid-Nite Madd-Ness
Synchrojack – Into Powder
Andy Hart – Aquarius
Kez YM – Amplified Soul
Nick Chacona – Tonka
Arttu – Upwards
Jayson Brothers – Keep On Dancin’
M>O>S – Lost Digits
House Mannequin – Ep 3 Track 1